Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Review doesn't reverse out call on Angels' Conger

Scioscia challenges original ruling, but video is inconclusive

OAKLAND -- The Angels lost their challenge and a leadoff baserunner in the seventh inning at Coliseum on Sunday, when replay didn't provide conclusive evidence to overturn an initial out call on the field.

With his team trailing, 6-2, to the A's, Angels catcher Hank Conger started the top of the seventh by hitting a slow roller that bounced off A's pitcher Sonny Gray and trickled to second baseman Eric Sogard, who quickly threw over to first for a bang-bang play.

Conger was deemed out by umpire Seth Buckminster, then immediately signaled to the dugout asking Mike Scioscia to challenge the play. But after review, umpires ruled that the call stands, prompting Scioscia to lose his challenge and move to 8-for-16 in replay reviews this season.

Alden Gonzalez is a reporter for Read his blog, Gonzo and "The Show", and follow him on Twitter @Alden_Gonzalez.
Read More: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Hank Conger