Pirates announce two additional non-roster invitees

February 12th, 2023

The Pittsburgh Pirates today signed catcher Kevin Plawecki and left-handed pitcher Caleb Smith as minor league free agents. Plawecki and Smith will attend big league camp as non-roster invitees. A total of 67 players will now be in big league camp when the Pirates hold their first workout for pitchers and catchers on February 15.

Kevin Plawecki (C) - Was a member of Boston’s Opening Day roster for the third straight season last year (was the sixth time in his career he was a member of an Opening Day roster)...Made a total of 58 appearances (46 starts) behind the plate for the Red Sox last year while hitting .217 with eight doubles, a home run and 12 RBI in 61 games with Boston...Hit .298 (17-for-57) in 20 games from August 4 through September 16 before being designated for assignment on September 17 and released on September 19...Signed with Texas as a free agent on September 21 and appeared in three games with the Rangers...Has recorded a .235 career average (298-for-1268) with 63 doubles, three triples, 22 home runs and 137 RBI in 449 games in the big leagues with the New York Mets (2015-18), Cleveland (2019), Boston (2020-22) and Texas (2022).

Caleb Smith (LHP)- Spent the 2022 season with Arizona where he went 1-3 with a 4.11 ERA (70.0ip/32er) , 65 strikeouts and .218 batting average against in 44 appearances (one start)...Limited left-handed batters to a .170 batting average (16-for-94)...Has gone 108 batters since allowing his last home run to a left-handed hitter on October 1, 2021 (was hit by Colorado’s Dom Nuñez)...Ranked third among National League relievers in innings pitched (43.0) prior to last year’s All-Star break...Was on the 15-day injured list from August 1-28 with a fractured right hand...Did not allow a run in nine of his final 13 outings after being reinstated from the injured list on August 29...Has averaged 9.6 strikeouts per 9.0 innings pitched in his big league career with the New York Yankees (2017), Miami (2018-20) and Arizona (2020-22).