Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Dodger President and CEO Stan Kasten named LA Sports Awards 2013 Executive of the Year

LOS ANGELES - Today the Los Angeles Sports Council named Dodger President and CEO Stan Kasten as the 2013 Sports Executive of the Year. Kasten will be honored during the 9th Annual LA Sports Awards, which will be held on Wednesday, March 5 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

A highly respected sports figure for more than three decades, Kasten has developed a reputation for creating winning franchises.

In just his second year with the Dodgers, Kasten helped mold a team that last season won the Western Division title and advanced to the National League Championship Series for the first time in four years. Simultaneously, he has helped to re-energize the team's fan base and re-establish the Dodgers as one of the leading brands in all of team sports, with a team built for long-term success on and off the field.

The LA Sports Awards are presented annually by the Sports Council to celebrate the greatest moments of the year in sports in the Los Angeles/Orange County area. This year's event will be emceed by popular stand-up comic Bill Engvall.

The star-studded awards dinner and gala will be televised on Prime Ticket on Friday, March 14 at 9:30 pm PDT (with multiple airings to follow). The show will include special appearances by many of the athletes, coaches and others whose achievements helped make 2013 such a memorable sports year. The ceremony also will feature the presentation of the Sportsman, Sportswoman, and Coach of the Year Awards. 

The LA Sports Awards is a fundraiser for the non-profit Los Angeles Sports Council, which will utilize the event's proceeds to further its mission of promoting economic development through sports in the greater Los Angeles area.  

Previous Sports Executive of the Year honorees are: Tim Leiweke, AEG (2012); Arte Moreno, Angels (2011); Tim Leiweke, AEG (2010); Jerry Buss, Lakers (2009); Mitch Kupchak, Lakers (2008); Brian Burke, Ducks (2007); Ned Colletti, Dodgers/Brian Burke, Ducks (2006); and Arte Moreno, Angels (2005).

Read More: Los Angeles Dodgers