Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Cape Cod Baseball League


The Cape Cod Baseball League is a prestigious collegiate summer league in Massachusetts that has played host to more than 1,250 future Major Leaguers over the years.

Top college players from across the United States are recruited to play in the CCBL, which was officially sanctioned by the NCAA in 1963 but traces its roots back to the late 1800s.

The CCBL currently features 10 teams: The Bourne Braves, Cotuit Kettleers, Falmouth Commodores, Hyannis Harbor Hawks, Wareham Gatemen, Brewster Whitecaps, Chatham Anglers, Harwich Mariners, Orleans Firebirds and Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox.

The CCBL is notable for its use of wood bats, which were implemented in 1985. This is in contrast to the aluminum bats used by the NCAA.

Five former CCBL players have been inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame: Jeff Bagwell, Craig Biggio, Frank Thomas, Carlton Fisk and Pie Traynor.