Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Bob Feller Act of Valor Award

In a first-of-its-kind unison linking the United States Navy and the professional baseball world, the Bob Feller Act of Valor Award was created in 2013 to recognize individuals for possessing the values, integrity and dedication to serving our country that Bob Feller himself displayed.

The award is presented annually to one professional baseball playerone Baseball Hall of Famer, and one US Navy Chief Petty Officer.

Peter Fertig created The Bob Feller Act of Valor Award with the support of the US Navy, the USS Alabama, The Cleveland Indians, the Baseball Hall of Fame, and the gracious consent of Mrs. Anne Feller.


Bob Feller is widely recognized as one of the greatest pitchers to have ever played the game, yet few know he voluntarily enlisted in the military just days following the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941. He was decorated with six campaign ribbons and eight battle stars, while serving on missions in both the Pacific and the North Atlantic, earning the rank of Chief Petty Officer.

2018 Class of Nominees:

  • Boston Red Sox - Dustin Pedroia
  • Cleveland Indians - Corey Kluber
  • Houston Astros - Charlie Morton
  • Kansas City Royals - Ian Kennedy
  • Los Angeles Dodgers - Justin Turner
  • Miami Marlins - Brad Ziegler
  • Milwaukee Brewers - Jimmy Nelson
  • NY Mets - Steven Matz
  • New York Yankees - David Robertson
  • Oakland Athletics - Chris Hatcher
  • San Diego Padres - Craig Stammen
  • Texas Rangers - Cole Hamels
  • Washington Nationals - Sean Doolittle

2018 Recipients

U.S. Navy Chief Petty Officer - Aviation Ordnanceman Chief Shawn M. Wingle

Sean Doolittle (Washington Nationals)

Johnny Bench (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1989)

2017 Recipients

Chief Petty Officer Edmundo Brantes

Darren O'Day (Baltimore Orioles)

Tom Seaver (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1992)

2016 Recipients

Sr. Chief Petty Officer Christopher Beeding

Brad Ziegler (Arizona Diamondbacks)

Rod Carew (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1991)

2015 Recipients

Chief Petty Officer Genell Cody (United States Navy)

Jonathan Lucroy  (Milwaukee Brewers)

George Brett (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1999)

2014 Recipients

Senior Chief Petty Officer Carl Thompson (United States Navy)

Nick Swisher (Cleveland Indians)

Tommy Lasorda (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1997)

2013 Recipients

Chief Hospital Corpsman Garth Sinclair (United States Navy)

Justin Verlander (Detroit Tigers)

Lawrence "Yogi" Berra (Baseball Hall of Fame: 1972)