Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Davis recognized with 2015 Clausen Award

Mariners Hall of Famer honored for community service

SEATTLE -- Mariners Hall of Famer Alvin Davis, a long-time contributor on and off the field in Seattle, has been chosen as the 2015 Al 'Moose' Clausen Community Service Award winner by the Mariners RBI Club.

Davis, 55, is known as Mr. Mariner and was the first inductee into the club's Hall of Fame in 1997 after an eight-year career in Seattle during which he was an American League All-Star first baseman, the AL Rookie of the Year Award winner in 1984 and one of the franchise's first well-known players.

The RBI Club, an organization of Mariners season ticket holders, gives the Moose Clausen Award to someone associated with the team who is particularly active in the community. Davis has been working as a special assistant in the Mariners player development program since 2012 and also helping coach at two high schools in his hometown of Riverside, Calif., since his retirement as a player in 1992.

He has served on the board of directors of Pro Athletes Outreach and supported the work of the Union Gospel Mission, Emerald City Outreach Ministries and Antioch Bible Church during his years in Seattle. Davis also has participated in the annual Mariners Caravan and Mariners Care Golf Tournament to benefit Cystic Fibrosis.

Davis has served as an elder of the Cornerstone Fellowship Bible Church in Riverside since 1997, overseeing the church's finances and leading a group that provides "biblical counsel and discipleship" to families. His wife, Kim, is also active in the church as co-leader of the women's ministry.

The award will be presented to Davis on Nov. 7 at the RBI Club's annual Toys for Kids fundraiser at the Bellevue Hyatt Evergreen Ballroom.

The Moose Clausen Award was founded in 2001 in honor of long-time Seattle baseball and community service activist Al Clausen.

Previous Moose Clausen Award winners are: Jamie Moyer (2001), Dan Wilson ('02), Edgar Martinez ('03), Jay Buhner ('04), Rick Rizzs and Dave Henderson ('05), Raul Ibanez ('06), Dave Valle ('07), John Olerud ('08), Howard Lincoln ('09), Bill Krueger ('10), Julio Cruz ('11), Jack Zduriencik ('12), Eric and Kate Wedge ('13).and Michael Saunders ('14).

Greg Johns is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB and listen to his podcast.
Read More: Seattle Mariners