Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Davis voted Most Valuable Oriole for 2nd time

Slugger to be honored in pregame ceremony before season finale

Chris Davis was named the 2015 Louis M. Hatter Most Valuable Oriole Award winner on Friday by members of the local media, and he will be recognized in an on-field ceremony prior to Sunday's regular-season finale against the Yankees.

Davis entered Friday with a Major League-leading 45 home runs and 112 RBIs, which ranks fourth. He is the first Orioles player to post two 40-homer seasons (he hit 53 in 2013), and he ranks 10th on the O's all-time home run list.

Davis leads all Baltimore hitters in home runs, RBIs, slugging percentage, on-base plus slugging percentage and walks, and he is second in runs scored.

Davis (2015, '13) is the 13th Orioles player to win the award multiple times, joining Adam Jones ('12, '11), Brian Roberts (2009, '05), Miguel Tejada (2006, '04), Rafael Palmiero (1998, '96, '95), Cal Ripken Jr. (1991, '90, '88, '83), Eddie Murray (1988, '85, '84, '83, '82, '81, '78), Ken Singleton (1979, '77, '75), Jim Palmer (1973, '72), Brooks Robinson (1971, '64, '62, '60), Frank Robinson (1971, '67, '66), Boog Powell (1970, '69) and Stu Miller (1965, '63).

The Most Valuable Oriole Award is named in honor of the late Lou Hatter, a former sportswriter for the Baltimore Sun who covered the O's for 27 years. Zach Britton, Jones, Caleb Joseph, Manny Machado and Darren O'Day also received votes.

Cash Kruth is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @cashkruth.
Read More: Baltimore Orioles, Chris Davis