Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Greinke's defense recognized with Gold Glove

LOS ANGELES -- Dodgers free agent Zack Greinke was a repeat winner of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award as the best defensive pitcher in the National League on Tuesday.

Four-time Gold Glove winner Adrian Gonzalez was a finalist at first base, but that Gold Glove was won by Arizona's Paul Goldschmidt. Greinke and Gonzalez were the only Dodgers' finalists.

2015 Awards coverage

Greinke is the first Dodger to win consecutive Gold Gloves since first baseman Steve Garvey, who won the award from 1974 to '77. He won despite committing two errors, a career high. Jake Arrieta of the Cubs and Gerrit Cole of the Pirates were the other pitcher finalists.

Speaking of great gloves, voting continues through Friday at to help decide the MLB Esurance Awards, and that includes such categories as Best Defensive Player and Best Defensive Play. Greinke is up for Best Starting Pitcher and Best Major Leaguer in the Esurance MLB Awards.

Previous Dodgers pitchers to win Gold Gloves are Clayton Kershaw, Greg Maddux, Orel Hershiser, Fernando Valenzuela and Andy Messersmith. Maddux and Messersmith won it twice while with the Dodgers, although Maddux was traded to the Dodgers during the season both times.

The Gold Glove Awards, presented every year since 1957, are decided by Major League managers and coaches, with collaboration from the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to incorporate sabermetrics as a component of the award.

The Platinum Glove winners for the best overall defensive player in each league will be unveiled on Friday following a fan vote.

Ken Gurnick is a reporter for
Read More: Los Angeles Dodgers, Zack Greinke