Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Players Choice Awards to be unveiled Monday

Miggy, Davis, Kershaw nominees for baseball-wide Player of the Year honors

The MLB Players Choice Awards will be handed out Monday on MLB Network, with honors going out in four categories in each league, and two more spanning the entire sport.

The 22nd annual program, which will begin at 8 p.m. ET, benefits the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Balloting was conducted in September.

Each league will hand out an award for Outstanding Player, Outstanding Pitcher, Outstanding Rookie and Comeback Player. There will also be a baseball-wide Player of the Year selected (Miguel Cabrera, Chris Davis and Clayton Kershaw are the nominees), and a Marvin Miller Man of the Year (Carlos Beltran, Raul Ibanez and Mariano Rivera are up for that one).

The nominees for the other award categories are as follows:

American League

Outstanding Player: Cabrera (Detroit), Davis (Baltimore), Mike Trout (L.A. Angels)
Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Texas), Anibal Sanchez (Detroit), Max Scherzer (Detroit)
Outstanding Rookie: Chris Archer (Tampa Bay), Jose Iglesias (Detroit), Wil Myers (Tampa Bay)
Comeback Player: Scott Kazmir (Cleveland), Victor Martinez (Detroit), Rivera (N.Y. Yankees)

National League

Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt (Arizona), Andrew McCutchen (Pittsburgh), Yadier Molina (St. Louis)
Outstanding Pitcher: Jose Fernandez (Miami), Kershaw (Los Angeles), Francisco Liriano (Pittsburgh)
Outstanding Rookie: Fernandez (Miami), Shelby Miller (St. Louis), Yasiel Puig (Los Angeles)
Comeback Player: Marlon Byrd (Pittsburgh), Liriano (Pittsburgh), Troy Tulowitzki (Colorado)

For the first time, all Major Leaguers were also asked to cast a separate ballot for the player they would like to see adorn the next cover of PlayStation's "MLB The Show" video game. PlayStation is a sponsor of Monday's announcements. That winner will also be unveiled during the broadcast.

The Players Choice Awards have been handed out since 1992. This year's winners will each designate charities to receive grants totaling $260,000 from the Major League Baseball Players Trust, which raises funds and attention for issues affecting the needy and promotes community involvement.

Joey Nowak is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @joeynowak.
Read More: Chris Archer, Raul Ibanez, Marlon Byrd, Chris Davis, Troy Tulowitzki, Wil Myers, Carlos Beltran, Miguel Cabrera, Yadier Molina, Jose Fernandez, Victor Martinez, Scott Kazmir, Yu Darvish, Mike Trout, Anibal Sanchez, Andrew McCutchen, Francisco Liriano, Mariano Rivera, Clayton Kershaw, Jose Iglesias, Shelby Miller, Yasiel Puig, Max Scherzer, Paul Goldschmidt