Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Mr. Marlin, Stanton among Franchise Four vote leaders

Conine, Lowell, Sheffield won Series; Slugger one of 12 active players repping current team

Which four players best represent the Miami Marlins?

It's an interesting question being kicked around by Major League Baseball in Franchise Four voting, and fans will have a chance to choose which four faces best exemplify the team over its history. So far, Jeff Conine, Giancarlo Stanton, Mike Lowell and Gary Sheffield sit atop Miami's Mount Rushmore.

Conine, dubbed Mr. Marlin for his time in Miami, was a part of both World Series championship teams with the Marlins, and Stanton is one of just 12 active players who represent their current team. Lowell was a three-time All-Star in Miami, and Sheffield a key cog in the team's 1997 title run.

Fans can still have their say, though, and there are still deserving candidates on the Miami bench. Josh Beckett finished second in National League Cy Young Award balloting for the Marlins in the 2003 championship run, and Livan Hernandez provided his own ace star-turns for the '97 title team. Luis Castillo made an infield impact for Miami, and Charles Johnson hit 75 home runs in his tenure as the Marlins' catcher.

More than 11.8 million votes have been cast in the Franchise Four voting, and you can cast your ballot here. Voting ends on May 8, and winners from all 30 clubs will be announced at the 2015 All-Star Game, which will take place on July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati.

Spencer Fordin is a reporter for
Read More: Miami Marlins