Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

A's nominated for eight GIBBY Awards

Colon, Donaldson, Moss, Melvin and Beane have chance to win hardware

OAKLAND -- Fresh off yet another American League West championship season, the A's are well represented in this year's Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) Awards' 22 categories.

Oakland has eight nominations, reflecting the success of its 96-win season.

Major League Baseball's A-listers will take home 2013 GIBBY trophies -- the ultimate honors of the industry's awards season -- based on votes by media, front-office personnel, MLB alumni, fans at and the Society for American Baseball Research.

This year's GIBBY Awards feature nominees in 22 categories. Individual honors will go to the MLB MVP, in addition to the year's best starting pitcher, hitter, closer, setup man, rookie, breakout hitter, breakout pitcher, comeback player, defensive player, manager, executive and postseason performer.

GIBBY trophies also will be awarded for the year's top play, storyline, hitting performance, pitching performance, oddity, walk-off, Cut4 topic, regular-season moment and postseason moment, from's Must C highlight reels.

Right-hander Bartolo Colon has earned a nomination for Starting Pitcher of the Year, while teammate Josh Donaldson is up for Breakout Hitter of the Year.

Donaldson's dazzling dive over the tarps in Oakland to make a spectacular catch in foul territory is up for Play of the Year.

Another memorable moment at the Coliseum, Brandon Moss' 19th-inning walk-off homer against the Angels in April, has been nominated for Walk-Off of the Year.

For a second year in a row, Bob Melvin is among the nominees for Manager of the Year, with general manager Billy Beane being considered for Executive of the Year.

In the past five years, fans have cast more than 50 million votes across the various GIBBY categories, none of which was restricted to individual league affiliation. Fans can vote through Sunday, Dec. 1.

Winners will be presented their GIBBY trophies at the Greatness in Baseball Yearly Awards extravaganza during the Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla.

Jane Lee is a reporter for
Read More: Oakland Athletics, Brandon Moss, Bartolo Colon, Josh Donaldson