Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Yadi holds voting lead; other Cards need push

Holliday, Peralta trailing peers in latest NL ballot update; vote through July 3

ST. LOUIS -- Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina remains on pace to make his second successive start behind the plate for the National League in this summer's All-Star Game.

Molina, a five-time All-Star, continues to hold a substantial lead among catchers, having accrued the second-most votes among NL players (1,210,579), second only to Colorado shortstop Troy Tulowitzki (1,419,718) in a ballot update released on Tuesday.

Among catchers, Molina's closest competitor is Giants backstop Buster Posey, who has received 766,356 votes.

Molina, who entered Tuesday having hit .305 with five home runs and 23 RBIs to go with a Major League-best 48 percent caught-stealing percentage, is a three-time fan-elected All-Star starter. His selection this season would give the Cardinals an All-Star Game starter for a sixth consecutive year, continuing the longest active streak in the NL

Molina's teammates in the running for a starting All-Star spot include shortstop Jhonny Peralta (347,854 votes), who moved into the top five this week. Cardinals left fielder Matt Holliday remains in 11th among outfielders for the second time in as many weeks. The Dodgers' Yasiel Puig (935,276), Colorado's Charlie Blackmon (883,186) and Miami's Giancarlo Stanton (863,307) lead the way at that position.

Fans can cast their votes for starters at and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday, July 3, at 11:59 p.m. ET. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 8 p.m. ET on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the 2014 MLB All-Star Game Selection Show during the weekend of July 5-6, with further details to follow on Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at via the 2014 All-Star Game MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy. will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit

Alex Halsted is an associate reporter for
Read More: St. Louis Cardinals, Matt Holliday, Jhonny Peralta, Yadier Molina