Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Disputed RBI single leads to Black's ejection

Infield hit stands after ball ricochets off Peterson's bat in seventh inning

ATLANTA -- Padres manager Bud Black was ejected from Thursday afternoon's 6-4, 11-inning win over the Braves in the bottom of the seventh over a disagreement on a ball hit by Atlanta's Jace Peterson.

With runners on second and third and one out, and the Braves up, 2-1, the lefty-swinging Peterson swung at and made contact with a pitch from San Diego right-handed starter Andrew Cashner. The ball dribbled up the first-base line in fair territory.

First baseman Yonder Alonso fielded the slow dribbler and threw to second baseman Cory Spangenberg, who was covering first, but Peterson beat the throw. A run scored.

Replays appeared to show that the ball bounced off the dirt in front of home plate at Turner Field and made contact again with Peterson's bat. Alonso immediately protested to home-plate umpire Jordan Baker, and Black emerged from the dugout to plead the case.

Video: [email protected]: Gonzalez, Black on quarrel, Black ejection

After a few moments, Baker tossed Black and it was clear the play would stand.

After the game, crew chief Jerry Meals addressed the situation.

"I'm not sure exactly what happened; we haven't seen any replays," Meals said. "[But] if it hits the bat twice, it's a foul ball."

The problem: None of the umps saw the ball come off the ground and hit the bat again. And the play is not, according to Meals, reviewable under Major League Baseball's Instant Replay rules.

"Nobody had seen it," Meals said. "Can't call anything you don't see."

John Donovan is a contributor to
Read More: San Diego Padres