Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Dee, Adeiny, Yelich up for Gold Glove Awards

MIAMI -- All season, defense was a strength for the Marlins, and more proof was revealed on Thursday with the announcement of the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists.

Dee Gordon (second base), Adeiny Hechavarria (shortstop) and Christian Yelich (left field) are listed among the top three at their respective positions in the National League.

• VOTE NOW: Esurance MLB Awards Best Defensive Player

Yelich in 2014 became the first Marlins outfielder to win the Gold Glove Award. The 23-year-old hopes to strike gold twice in as many years.

Gordon, the NL batting champion with a .333 average, is seeking his first Gold Glove, as is Hechavarria, who was a finalist in 2014.

The winners will be announced on Nov. 10 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Gordon is up against defending Gold Glove winner D.J. LeMahieu of the Rockies and Brandon Phillips of the Reds.

Andrelton Simmons won the Gold Glove in 2014, and Hechavarria is up against the Braves shortstop once again. Brandon Crawford of the Giants is the third finalist.

Video: [email protected]: Hechavarria fields, spins and fires

In left, Yelich is competing with Starling Marte of the Pirates and Justin Upton of the Padres.

Gordon matches up favorably to win the award. In 1,270 innings, he committed six errors and had a fielding percentage of .992.

Gordon also is a standout according to the analytics, which factor into the award. The speedy second baseman posted a 6.4 UZR (ultimate zone rating) and he had 13 defensive runs saved (DRS).

Video: [email protected]: Gordon makes great over-the-shouler catch

Hechavarria, who missed the final month due to a left hamstring strain, finished with nine errors and a .984 fielding percentage, along with nine DRS and a 15.8 UZR.

Yelich saw action at both left field and center field. In left, he started 86 games, along with 35 starts in center. He committed two errors and had a .992 fielding percentage.

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are decided by Major League managers and coaches, with collaboration from the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to incorporate sabermetrics as a component of the award.

Joe Frisaro is a reporter for He writes a blog, called The Fish Pond. Follow him on Twitter @JoeFrisaro and listen to his podcast.
Read More: Miami Marlins, Christian Yelich, Dee Gordon, Adeiny Hechavarria