Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Peers nominate Cruz among AL's top players

Mariners slugger a finalist along with Blue Jays' Donaldson, Angels' Trout

SEATTLE -- Mariners right fielder Nelson Cruz, who is headed down to the wire in the race for the Major League home run crown, was one of three players named Thursday as finalists for the Players Choice Award's American League Outstanding Player.

The other finalists for the AL Outstanding Player award are center fielder Mike Trout of the Angels and third baseman Josh Donaldson of the Blue Jays.

Cruz has 44 home runs with three games remaining this season, as the Mariners close out their campaign with a three-game weekend series with the A's at Safeco Field. Orioles first baseman Chris Davis hit two home runs during a doubleheader on Wednesday to take the MLB lead in homers with 45.

Cruz is third in the AL in slugging percentage at .570, fourth in OPS at .940, tied for eighth in batting average at .301, 10th in on-base percentage at .370 and 11th in RBIs with 92.

Donaldson has hit .300/.375/.577 with a .952 OPS, 41 homers and 123 RBIs for Toronto. Trout has put up a .299/.402/.589 line with a .990 OPS, 41 homers and 89 RBIs.

Cruz is Seattle's only finalist for a Players Choice Award, which will be announced on MLB Network on Nov. 9.

Donaldson is also one of the finalists for the 2015 Player of the Year Award, along with Zack Greinke of the Dodgers and Bryce Harper of the Nationals.

Other finalists are: 

AL Outstanding Pitcher: Sonny Gray (Athletics), Dallas Keuchel (Astros) and David Price (Blue Jays)

AL Outstanding Rookie: Carlos Correa (Astros), Francisco Lindor (Indians) and Miguel Sano (Twins)

AL Comeback Player: Prince Fielder (Rangers), Kendrys Morales (Royals) and Alex Rodriguez (Yankees)

NL Outstanding Player: Nolan Arenado (Rockies), Paul Goldschmidt (D-backs) and Harper (Nationals)

NL Outstanding Pitcher: Jake Arrieta (Cubs), Greinke (Dodgers) and Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers)

NL Outstanding Rookie: Kris Bryant (Cubs), Matt Duffy (Giants) and Jung Ho Kang (Pirates)

NL Comeback Player: Carlos Gonzalez (Rockies), Matt Harvey (Mets) and Joey Votto (Reds)

Marvin Miller Man of the Year: Dee Gordon (Marlins), Adam Jones (Orioles) and David Robertson (White Sox)

The awards were voted on by all current players, with balloting conducted in Major League clubhouses on Sept. 16.

Greg Johns is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB, read his Mariners Musings blog, and listen to his podcast.
Read More: Seattle Mariners, Nelson Cruz