Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

No Gold Glove repeat for Cubs' Barney

Second baseman, first baseman Rizzo settle for finalist honors

CHICAGO -- There was no repeat for the Cubs' Darwin Barney.

Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips reclaimed the Rawlings Gold Glove Award in the National League, which Barney won in 2012. Winners of the top defensive honor were announced Tuesday.

Barney, 27, and Phillips were finalists for NL second-base honors along with the Dodgers' Mark Ellis. Barney led the NL in fielding percentage this season, but was seventh in zone rating, which is determined by how many plays a fielder makes and how many were hit into his zone. Phillips, who won the award in 2008, '10 and '11, was second in zone rating at .833 behind the Padres' Jedd Gyorko (.851).

This year, managers and coaches who received the Gold Glove ballots also had an additional packet of statistics as Rawlings collaborated with the Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) to formally incorporate sabermetrics as a component of the award.

Arizona's Paul Goldschmidt won the NL Gold Glove at first base over the Cubs' Anthony Rizzo, who was a finalist for the first time in his career. The Dodgers' Adrian Gonzalez, who was vying for his third Gold Glove, and first since 2009, also was a finalist.

Rizzo, 24, and Goldschmidt were tied for second in the NL in fielding percentage behind the Rockies' Todd Helton, and the Cubs first baseman led the NL in zone rating (.902).

This was Rizzo's first full season in the big leagues. Derrek Lee was the last Cubs first baseman to win a Gold Glove, doing so in 2007. The Cubs have not had multiple Gold Glove winners since 2005, when Lee and Greg Maddux both won top defensive honors.

Carrie Muskat is a reporter for She writes a blog, Muskat Ramblings, and you can follow her on Twitter @CarrieMuskat.
Read More: Chicago Cubs, Darwin Barney, Anthony Rizzo