Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
news

MLB News

Out call on Viciedo confirmed on replay

Special to MLB.com

KANSAS CITY -- The White Sox lost a second-inning replay challenge on Tuesday, as Dayan Viciedo was ruled out at second after rounding the bag too far on a single by Carlos Sanchez.

With Viciedo at first base and two outs, Sanchez hit a soft single to right-center. Viciedo rounded second, but couldn't get back in time as Royals center fielder Jarrod Dyson threw the ball in to shortstop Alcides Escobar, who applied the tag.

View Full Game Coverage

KANSAS CITY -- The White Sox lost a second-inning replay challenge on Tuesday, as Dayan Viciedo was ruled out at second after rounding the bag too far on a single by Carlos Sanchez.

With Viciedo at first base and two outs, Sanchez hit a soft single to right-center. Viciedo rounded second, but couldn't get back in time as Royals center fielder Jarrod Dyson threw the ball in to shortstop Alcides Escobar, who applied the tag.

View Full Game Coverage

White Sox manager Robin Ventura challenged the call in hopes that Viciedo had put his hand on the bag before Escobar made the tag. But the out call was confirmed by replay.

Robert Falkoff is a contributor to MLB.com.

Chicago White Sox