Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Royals Hall of Fame voting open to fans

SURPRISE, Ariz. -- Fans can begin voting for their part of the Royals Hall of Fame ballot immediately online through noon on March 29 at this link.

The 10 eligible players include four former All-Stars -- outfielders Bo Jackson and Jermaine Dye, third baseman Kevin Seitzer and catcher Darrell Porter. Jackson was named the All-Star Game Most Valuable Player in 1989, Dye was voted to the starting lineup in 2000, Seitzer was picked as a rookie in 1987 and Porter was a three-time selection from 1978-80.

The others on the ballot are former player and manager John Wathan, outfielders Al Cowens and Emil Brown, and pitchers Al Fitzmorris, Jimmy Gobble and Runelvys Hernandez.

To be eligible for the first time, players must have played at least three seasons for the Royals with a minimum of 1,500 plate appearances or 150 innings pitched. They must be retired from playing for at least three years.

The online fans' ballot will account for three of 40 overall votes. The other votes go to the living Royals Hall of Fame members, select members of the Royals board of directors, the Kansas City Chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America, KC electronic media and the Royals front office staff. A candidate must receive 75 percent of the vote to be elected.

Dick Kaegel is a reporter for
Read More: Kansas City Royals, Jeremy Guthrie, Mike Moustakas, Alex McClure, Brett Eibner, Terrance Gore