Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Twins can't capitalize after Gardy wins challenge

Call overturned on close play at first base in third after Escobar initially ruled out

NEW YORK -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire successfully challenged a play at first base in the third inning of Saturday's game against the Yankees.

After Brian Dozier reached on an error by right fielder Alfonso Soriano, Eduardo Escobar hit a soft grounder to Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira, who flipped the ball to pitcher Masahiro Tanaka at first base.

Escobar was initially ruled out on the play by first-base umpire Brian Gorman, but Gardenhire issued a challenge. After a review that lasted 40 seconds, it was ruled that Escobar was safe and the call was overturned to put two runners on and nobody out for the Twins.

But they were unable to capitalize even after a wild pitch moved up both runners with Joe Mauer at the plate. Mauer struck out for the first out before Josh Willingham hit a soft liner to shortstop for the second out. Tanaka got out of the inning by striking out Oswaldo Arcia.

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger.
Read More: Minnesota Twins, Eduardo Escobar, Masahiro Tanaka