Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon
news

MLB News

Gardy happy with MLB clarifying transfer rule

MLB.com

MINNEAPOLIS -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire was pleased to see Major League Baseball's Playing Rules Committee clarify the transfer rule on Friday.

The rules committee determined that there is no requirement that a fielder has to successfully remove the ball from his glove in order for it be ruled a catch on both fly balls and forceouts.

View Full Game Coverage

MINNEAPOLIS -- Twins manager Ron Gardenhire was pleased to see Major League Baseball's Playing Rules Committee clarify the transfer rule on Friday.

The rules committee determined that there is no requirement that a fielder has to successfully remove the ball from his glove in order for it be ruled a catch on both fly balls and forceouts.

View Full Game Coverage

The clarified rule went into effect on Friday, after there was some debate early this season regarding the interpretation of the rule as part of this year's new replay rules.

"Common sense has come into play," Gardenhire said. "If a guy makes a catch and then runs 15 yards and drops the ball on the exchange, doesn't mean he didn't catch it. I talked to several umpires who said they hoped they'd change that rule."

The interpretation was discussed and agreed upon by MLB, the MLB Players Association and the World Umpires Association.

Rhett Bollinger is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Bollinger Beat, and follow him on Twitter @RhettBollinger.

Minnesota Twins