Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Royals GM Moore named Best Executive

World Series champs receive 3rd Esurance MLB Award

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- General manager Dayton Moore, the architect of the Royals' resurrection to greatness over the past two seasons, is the 2015 winner of the Esurance MLB Award for Best Executive.

Blue Jays general manager Alex Anthopoulos and Astros general manager Jeff Luhnow were runners-up for the award.

Moore's Royals reached the World Series for the first time in 29 years in 2014, then captured their first World Series championship in 2015.

"It's a great honor, obviously. I feel very humbled that people would vote for me for that position because it is truly an organizational award," Moore said. "I'm proud to represent our city and our organization."

Moore made numerous key offseason additions prior to last season -- moves that originally were criticized by some observers as not splashy enough -- that paved the way for the Royals' championship run.

Video: Best Executive winner: Dayton Moore

In December, Moore signed designated hitter Kendrys Morales, right-hander Edinson Volquez, right fielder Alex Rios and right-hander Kris Medlen. In Spring Training, Moore landed right-handers Chris Young and Ryan Madson, and left-hander Franklin Morales.

At the Trade Deadline, Moore acquired super utility player Ben Zobrist and ace Johnny Cueto.

All the acquisitions turned out to be key components to the title.

The Royals already captured two other Esurance Awards. Eric Hosmer's mad dash home in Game 5 of the World Series won for Best Moment. Closer Wade Davis won for Best Major Leaguer, Postseason.

Video: Best Major Leaguer, Postseason Award Winner: Davis

The Esurance MLB Awards annually honor Major League Baseball's greatest achievements as part of an industry-wide balloting process that includes five components, each of which accounts for 20 percent of the overall vote: media, front-office personnel, retired MLB players, fans at and Society for American Baseball Research (SABR) voters.

Individual awards were presented for 24 separate categories, including Best Major Leaguer, Everyday Player, Bounceback Player, Social Media Personality and Postseason Performer. Winners were also recognized for the year's Best Offensive Play, Defensive Play, Moment, Single-Game Performance, Social Media Post, Celebrity Fan and Fan Catch.

Nominees were judged on their bodies of work from the entire year -- from Opening Day through the postseason -- and selected after a careful review of all 30 clubs. Winners in all categories receive a Greatness in Baseball Yearly (GIBBY) trophy.

Jeffrey Flanagan is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter at @FlannyMLB.
Read More: Kansas City Royals