Shohei Ohtani wins 2023 Silver Slugger Award

Second Silver Slugger Award for Ohtani

November 9th, 2023

ANAHEIM – Shohei Ohtani today was named the recipient of a 2023 Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award, which is given to the best offensive players at each position in both the American and National Leagues.  The award, which has been presented annually since 1980, is Ohtani’s second and the 28th overall for the Angels.

With today’s announcement, Ohtani becomes the seventh player to win multiple Silver Sluggers as a designated hitter, joining David Ortiz (7), Edgar Martinez (4), Paul Molitor (4), Don Baylor (3), Nelson Cruz (3) and Frank Thomas (2). Ohtani also becomes the fifth player in Angels history to win multiple Silver Sluggers, joining Mike Trout (9), Vladimir Guerrero (4), Troy Glaus (2) and Garret Anderson (2). Ohtani and Ichiro Suzuki (2001, ’07, ’09) are the only Japanese-born players to win a Silver Slugger Award.

Ohtani led the American League in home runs (44), on-base percentage (.412), slugging percentage (.654), OPS (1.066), extra-base hits (78) and total bases (325) in 2023. He became the second player in Angels history to lead the league in home runs, joining Troy Glaus (2000), and was the only player in the Majors with 5+ triples and 35+ home runs. Ohtani also ranked among A.L. leaders in intentional walks (21; 2nd), triples (8; 3rd), batting average (.304; 4th), runs (102; T-4th), and walks (91; 5th).

The Angels have now won a Silver Slugger Award in 12 consecutive seasons, which is the longest streak in franchise history. The Halos 28 overall Silver Sluggers include 20 by outfielders, three by third basemen, two by designated hitters and one each at catcher, second base and shortstop.

In addition to Ohtani, Angels infielder Brandon Drury was a finalist for the 2023 Silver Slugger Awards at both second base and utility.

The Silver Slugger Award winners were determined by a vote of MLB managers and coaches who select the players they felt were the best offensive producers at each position in their league in 2023. Selections were based on a combination of offensive statistics, as well as the general impressions of a player’s overall offensive value. Managers and coaches were not allowed to vote for players on their own teams.

The complete list of Angels Silver Slugger Award winners is below:

1981 – Rick Burleson, SS

1981 – Bobby Grich, 2B

1982 – Doug DeCinces, 3B

1982 – Reggie Jackson, OF

1990 – Lance Parrish, C

1995 – Tim Salmon, OF

2000 – Darin Erstad, OF

2000 – Troy Glaus, 3B

2001 – Troy Glaus, 3B

2002 – Garret Anderson, OF

2003 – Garret Anderson, OF

2004 – Vladimir Guerrero, OF

2005 – Vladimir Guerrero, OF

2006 – Vladimir Guerrero, OF

2007 – Vladimir Guerrero, OF

2009 – Torii Hunter, OF

2012 – Mike Trout, OF

2013 – Mike Trout, OF

2014 – Mike Trout, OF

2015 – Mike Trout, OF

2016 – Mike Trout, OF

2017 – Justin Upton, OF

2018 – Mike Trout, OF

2019 – Mike Trout, OF

2020 – Mike Trout, OF

2021 – Shohei Ohtani, DH

2022 – Mike Trout, OF

2023 – Shohei Ohtani, DH