Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Farrell appeals to umpires, who overturn call

Holt intially ruled out on close play; in first, manager loses challenge

BOSTON -- Red Sox manager John Farrell had been 0-for-3 in challenging calls this season, including one on the first pitch of Friday night's game, but he finally got a call to go in his favor.

In the eighth inning of an 8-4 loss to the Orioles at Fenway Park, Brock Holt led off with a grounder to second baseman Steve Lombardozzi, who fielded it cleanly and threw to first baseman Chris Davis. Holt was initially called out. Farrell came out to argue, and since he had used his challenge earlier, asked the umpiring crew to review it.

They did, and after a review of one minute and three seconds, the call on the field was reversed and Holt was ruled safe. The call did little to help the Sox, though. After three consecutive groundouts, Holt was stranded at second base.

On the first pitch of the game from John Lackey, Nick Markakis sliced a double down the left-field line. Farrell challenged the ruling. On some views of replays shown inside Fenway Park and on television, it appeared the ball landed in foul territory. In other replay views, it appeared to catch some of the foul line.

After a review of two minutes, 56 seconds, the ruling on the play stood. Three batters later, after moving to third on Davis' groundout, Markakis scored the game's first run on Adam Jones' infield single.

Maureen Mullen is a contributor to
Read More: Boston Red Sox, Baltimore Orioles, John Lackey, Brock Holt, Nick Markakis