Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Tino leads seven bound for College Baseball HOF

Four-time World Series champion among distinct group comprising Class of 2013

Tino Martinez, a two-time Major League All-Star and four-time World Series champion, headlines a set of seven players and coaches who will represent the 2013 class of the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Martinez starred at the University of Tampa before becoming a first-round Draft choice by the Mariners in 1988. He will be joined by Sal Bando, Ralph Garr, Roy Smalley, Tom Borland and coaches Don Schaly and John Winkin.

"This class brings a different flavor to the induction process because it features our first Division III coach, perhaps the greatest Division II player ever and three players from the 1950s, '60s and early '70s, which is a time period that has been a bit underrepresented in past inductions," said Mike Gustafson, executive director of the College Baseball Hall of Fame. "We are excited to welcome them to the Hall of Fame."

Bando, a third baseman at Arizona State in 1964-65, proceeded to earn four MLB All-Star Game nods. He directed the Sun Devils to their first national title in 1965, when he won Most Valuable Player of the College World Series.

Garr batted .418 in a four-year stint at Grambling University from 1964-67, including a Division II-record .582 his senior season. He compiled a career average of .306 over 13 big league seasons, including a .353 mark in 1974, when he played in the Midsummer Classic. Garr is the fourth inductee selected by the Black Legends and Pioneers Committee, designated to honor players and coaches at historically black colleges and universities whose careers commenced before 1975.

Smalley, a first-team All-American shortstop for the University of Southern California in 1973, represented the Minnesota Twins in the All-Star Game six years later. He and Trojans teammate Fred Lynn captained USC to a pair of national championships. Smalley played 13 years in the big leagues, including 10 with the Twins.

Borland posted a 19-2 record in two years at Oklahoma State University, leading the school to its first two CWS appearances. He was awarded MVP of the tournament in 1955. Borland pitched in 27 total games for the Red Sox in 1960 and '61.

Martinez was recognized as the 1988 National Division II Player of the Year. He maintains school records for career home runs, batting average, slugging percentage and single-season batting average and slugging percentage. He socked 339 home runs across 16 Major League seasons, seven spent with the Yankees and six with the Mariners.

Schaly logged an .812 winning percentage at Division III Marietta College from 1964-2003, the best mark of any college coach at any level with more than 500 victories. He captured three national championships and was named National Coach of the Year on four occasions.

Winkin collected more than 1,000 wins in 50-plus years of coaching at the University of Maine, Colby College and Husson College. His Maine teams qualified for the NCAA Tournament 11 times, and his Black Bears made six CWS appearances.

The 2013 class will be inducted on June 28-29 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of the College Baseball Night of Champions.

"I am so happy to welcome a new class of inductees that includes Coach Schaly and Coach Winkin, among the other tremendous inductees," Gustafson said. "They are extremely well-respected among their coaching peers, so this recognition is due."

Zack Meisel is a reporter for Follow him on Twitter @zackmeisel.