Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Padres announce 2014 Opening Night roster

SAN DIEGO - The San Diego Padres today announced a number of roster moves, finalizing their Opening Night roster. The club today selected infielder/outfielder Xavier Nady, placed right-handed pitchers Casey Kelly, Josh Johnson and Joe Wieland and outfielders Cameron Maybin and Carlos Quentin on the 15-day disabled list and optioned infielder/outfielder Kyle Blanks to Triple-A El Paso. Executive Vice President/General Manager Josh Byrnes made the announcements.  

Quentin has been placed on the 15-day disabled list, retroactive to March 25th, with a bone bruise in his left knee, Johnson with a right forearm strain and Maybin with a ruptured left biceps tendon. Kelly has been placed on the 15-day disabled list while recovering from Tommy John surgery performed on his right elbow in April 2013 while Wieland has been placed on the disabled list recovering from arthroscopic surgery on his right elbow performed on March 25, 2014. Luebke was placed on the 60-day disabled list on March 7, 2014 while recovering from Tommy John surgery on his left elbow.   

With today's announcements, the Padres have set their Opening Night 25-man roster. The roster features nine right-handed pitchers, three left-handed pitchers, three catchers, five infielders and five outfielders. Six players are making their first appearance on a Major League team's Opening Night roster, including Robbie Erlin, Tommy Medica, Rene Rivera, Donn Roach, Alex Torres and Nick Vincent.

Read More: San Diego Padres