Here's the list of SD retired numbers

December 1st, 2021

SAN DIEGO -- Historically, the Padres are best known for a couple of their widely revered superstars.
Tony Gwynn ranks among the best pure hitters in baseball history. Trevor Hoffman is on the short list of the best closers of all-time.

Gwynn and Hoffman, of course, are among the Friars who have their number retired at Petco Park. Here's the full list of players to receive that honor in San Diego.

Steve Garvey, 1B: No. 6
Number retired: April 16, 1988
The most (and only) controversial inclusion on this list, Garvey is best known for his contributions with the Dodgers. He only spent five seasons with San Diego, from 1983-87, and he posted a .275/.309/.409 slash line with 61 homers -- solid, but certainly not franchise-altering. Then again, it was Garvey who authored the most dramatic moment in club history. With the Padres facing elimination in Game 4 of the '84 National League Championship Series, Garvey launched the franchise's only postseason walk-off homer. The Padres would beat the Cubs in five games, earning their first trip to the Fall Classic.

Tony Gwynn, OF: No. 19
Number retired: Sept. 4, 2004
There might not be a single player as beloved by a fan base as Gwynn is in San Diego. "Mr. Padre" spent 20 seasons with the club, racking up a .338 batting average and 3,141 hits. Put simply, he's one of the greatest hitters of all time, and his hardworking, humble demeanor resonated with the fans. Gwynn won eight batting titles, and he was a 15-time All-Star before his 2007 Hall of Fame induction. He made a point to remain with the Padres rather than test the free-agent waters, and he was rewarded with a thrilling trip to the World Series in 1998, where his Game 1 homer at Yankee Stadium stands as one of the lasting images in franchise history. Gwynn is more than a franchise icon -- he's a San Diego legend and one of the all-time great ambassadors for the sport of baseball.

Dave Winfield, OF: No. 31
Number retired: April 14, 2001
The first Padre inducted into the Hall of Fame, Winfield spent his first eight big league seasons with San Diego, where he launched 154 of his 465 career homers and batted .284/.357/.464. He led the team in home runs in each of his final five seasons with the Padres before joining the Yankees ahead of the 1981 season. Winfield was enshrined in Cooperstown in 2001, and he was honored with his number retirement ceremony in San Diego a few months prior.

Randy Jones, P: No. 35
Number retired: May 9, 1997
A truly legendary Padre, Jones became the first NL Cy Young Award winner in franchise history when he took home the 1976 honor. He pitched 25 complete games in '76 and recorded a 2.74 ERA. His '75 campaign might have been even better, when he won the NL ERA title with a 2.24 mark while amassing 18 complete games and six shutouts. Known for his quick pace and his sneaky sinker, Jones' outings became something of a local holiday. He remains a revered figure in San Diego.

Trevor Hoffman, P: No. 51
Number retired: Aug. 21, 2011
Hoffman arrived in San Diego in 1993 as a little-known reliever in the deal that sent Gary Sheffield to Florida. He developed into one of the greatest closers in the sport's history. Hoffman retired with a record 601 saves, and during his 16 seasons in San Diego he posted a 2.76 ERA while limiting opposing hitters to a .211 batting average. He entered home games to AC/DC's "Hells Bells," which regularly whipped home fans into a frenzy. Hoffman was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2018, and his plaque begins with the line, "Master of a mystifying changeup." Indeed, it ranks among the best changeups ever thrown.

Note: On April 15, 1997, the Padres joined every team in MLB in retiring No. 42 in honor of Jackie Robinson.