Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Hank Aaron Award

Awarded annually to the best overall offensive performer in both leagues, the award was introduced in 1999 to mark the 25th anniversary of Hank Aaron breaking Babe Ruth's all-time home run record. Aaron, along with a panel of other Hall of Famers, determine the winners along with a fan vote.

American League

Year Player Team Position
2020 José Abreu White Sox 1B
2019 Mike Trout LA Angels CF
2018 J.D. Martinez Boston LF
2017 Jose Altuve Houston 2B
2016 David Ortiz Boston DH
2015 Josh Donaldson Toronto 3B
2014 Mike Trout LA Angels CF
2013 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2012 Miguel Cabrera Detroit 3B
2011 Jose Bautista Toronto OF
2010 Jose Bautista Toronto OF
2009 Derek Jeter NY Yankees SS
2008 Kevin Youkilis Boston 1B
2007 Alex Rodriguez NY Yankees 3B
2006 Derek Jeter NY Yankees SS
2005 David Ortiz Boston DH
2004 Manny Ramirez Boston OF
2003 Alex Rodriguez Texas SS
2002 Alex Rodriguez Texas SS
2001 Alex Rodriguez Texas SS
2000 Carlos Delgado Toronto 1B
1999 Manny Ramirez Cleveland OF

National League

Year Player Team Position
2020 Freddie Freeman Atlanta 1B
2019 Christian Yelich Milwaukee LF
2018 Christian Yelich Milwaukee LF
2017 Giancarlo Stanton Miami RF
2016 Kris Bryant Chi Cubs 3B
2015 Bryce Harper Washington RF
2014 Giancarlo Stanton Miami RF
2013 Paul Goldschmidt Arizona 1B
2012 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2011 Matt Kemp LA Dodgers OF
2010 Joey Votto Cincinnati 1B
2009 Albert Pujols St. Louis 1B
2008 Aramis Ramirez Chi Cubs 3B
2007 Prince Fielder Milwaukee 1B
2006 Ryan Howard Philadelphia 1B
2005 Andruw Jones Atlanta OF
2004 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2003 Albert Pujols St. Louis OF
2002 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2001 Barry Bonds San Francisco OF
2000 Todd Helton Colorado 1B
1999 Sammy Sosa Chi Cubs OF