Manager of the Year

Since 1983, the the Baseball Writers' Association of America have voted for the top managers in each league. Ballots are submitted prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system.

American League

Year Manager Team
2022 Terry Francona Cleveland
2021 Kevin Cash Tampa Bay
2020 Kevin Cash Tampa Bay
2019 Rocco Baldelli Minnesota
2018 Bob Melvin Oakland
2017 Paul Molitor Minnesota
2016 Terry Francona Cleveland
2015 Jeff Banister Texas
2014 Buck Showalter Baltimore
2013 Terry Francona Cleveland
2012 Bob Melvin Oakland
2011 Joe Maddon Tampa Bay
2010 Ron Gardenhire Minnesota
2009 Mike Scioscia LA Angels
2008 Joe Maddon Tampa Bay
2007 Eric Wedge Cleveland
2006 Jim Leyland Detroit
2005 Ozzie Guillen Chi White Sox
2004 Buck Showalter Texas
2003 Tony Pena Kansas City
2002 Mike Scioscia Anaheim
2001 Lou Piniella Seattle
2000 Jerry Manuel Chi White Sox
1999 Jimy Williams Boston
1998 Joe Torre NY Yankees
1997 Davey Johnson Baltimore
1996 Joe Torre NY Yankees
1996 Johnny Oates Texas
1995 Lou Piniella Seattle
1994 Buck Showalter NY Yankees
1993 Gene Lamont Chi White Sox
1992 Tony La Russa Oakland
1991 Tom Kelly Minnesota
1990 Jeff Torborg Chi White Sox
1989 Frank Robinson Baltimore
1988 Tony La Russa Oakland
1987 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1986 John McNamara Boston
1985 Bobby Cox Toronto
1984 Sparky Anderson Detroit
1983 Tony La Russa Chi White Sox

National League

Year Manager Team
2022 Buck Showalter NY Mets
2021 Gabe Kapler San Francisco
2020 Don Mattingly Miami
2019 Mike Shildt St. Louis
2018 Brian Snitker Atlanta
2017 Torey Lovullo Arizona
2016 Dave Roberts LA Dodgers
2015 Joe Maddon Chi Cubs
2014 Matt Williams Washington
2013 Clint Hurdle Pittsburgh
2012 Davey Johnson Washington
2011 Kirk Gibson Arizona
2010 Bud Black San Diego
2009 Jim Tracy Colorado
2008 Lou Piniella Chi Cubs
2007 Bob Melvin Arizona
2006 Joe Girardi Florida
2005 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2004 Bobby Cox Atlanta
2003 Jack McKeon Florida
2002 Tony La Russa St. Louis
2001 Larry Bowa Philadelphia
2000 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1999 Jack McKeon Cincinnati
1998 Larry Dierker Houston
1997 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1996 Bruce Bochy San Diego
1995 Don Baylor Colorado
1994 Felipe Alou Montreal
1993 Dusty Baker Jr. San Francisco
1992 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1991 Bobby Cox Atlanta
1990 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh
1989 Don Zimmer Chi Cubs
1988 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles
1987 Buck Rodgers Montreal
1986 Hal Lanier Houston
1985 Whitey Herzog St. Louis
1984 Jim Frey Chi Cubs
1983 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles