Commissioner’s Historic Achievement Award

The Commissioner’s Historic Achievement Award is presented in recognition of an achievement of historical significance. The award has been presented 16 times – to 15 individuals and to one team – since its inception in 1998.

2021: Shohei Ohtani for his historic season as a two-way player, including starting the All-Star Game as both a pitcher and designated hitter.

2014: The retiring Derek Jeter for his numerous all-time postseason records (hits, runs, total bases).

2014: Vin Scully on his 65 years of service to baseball.

2013: Mariano Rivera, who retired as the all-time saves leader.

2011: Ken Griffey Jr., on his great career in baseball and for being one of the most popular players of all-time.

2007: Rachel Robinson, on the 60th anniversary of her husband’s breaking of the color barrier and for her advancement of his legacy.

2006: Roberto Clemente, posthumously, during the 2006 All-Star Game in Pittsburgh and presented to his wife, Vera, and their family.

2005: Ichiro Suzuki for his record-breaking hit total achieved in the 2004 season, surpassing George Sisler.

2004: Roger Clemens for his 300th win and record Cy Young Award total.

2001: The Seattle Mariners for their record-tying 116-win regular season.

2001: The retiring Tony Gwynn for his record-tying eight NL batting titles.

2001: Rickey Henderson for his all-time career records in stolen bases, walks and runs.

2001: Barry Bonds for his single-season home run record.

1998: Both Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa for their record-breaking single-season home run-record chase.

1998: Cal Ripken Jr. in commemoration of the end of his legendary Iron Man streak.