Roberto Clemente Award

The award is given annually to a player who demonstrates the values Hall of Famer Roberto Clemente displayed in his commitment to community and understanding the value of helping others. Each club nominates a player in September. The winner is selected from 30 nominees during the World Series. Originally the Commissioner's Award, the honor was named for Clemente in 1973.

Year Player Team Position
2021 Nelson Cruz Minnesota DH
2020 Adam Wainwright St. Louis (NL) P
2019 Carlos Carrasco Cleveland (AL) P
2018 Yadier Molina St. Louis (NL) C
2017 Anthony Rizzo Chi Cubs (NL) 1B
2016 Curtis Granderson NY Mets (NL) CF
2015 Andrew McCutchen Pittsburgh (NL) CF
2014 Paul Konerko Chi White Sox (AL) 1B
2014 Jimmy Rollins Philadelphia (NL) SS
2013 Carlos Beltran St. Louis (NL) OF
2012 Clayton Kershaw LA Dodgers (NL) P
2011 David Ortiz Boston (AL) DH
2010 Tim Wakefield Boston (AL) P
2009 Derek Jeter NY Yankees (AL) SS
2008 Albert Pujols St. Louis (NL) 1B
2007 Craig Biggio Houston (NL) 2B
2006 Carlos Delgado NY Mets (NL) 1B
2005 John Smoltz Atlanta (NL) P
2004 Edgar Martinez Seattle (AL) DH
2003 Jamie Moyer Seattle (AL) P
2002 Jim Thome Cleveland (AL) 1B
2001 Curt Schilling Arizona (NL) P
2000 Al Leiter NY Mets (NL) P
1999 Tony Gwynn San Diego (NL) OF
1998 Sammy Sosa Chi Cubs (NL) OF
1997 Eric Davis Baltimore (AL) OF
1996 Kirby Puckett Minnesota (AL) OF
1995 Ozzie Smith St. Louis (NL) SS
1994 Dave Winfield Minnesota (AL) DH
1993 Barry Larkin Cincinnati (NL) SS
1992 Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore (AL) SS
1991 Harold Reynolds Seattle (AL) 2B
1990 Dave Stewart Oakland (AL) P
1989 Gary Carter NY Mets (NL) C
1988 Dale Murphy Atlanta (NL) OF
1987 Rick Sutcliffe Chi Cubs (NL) P
1986 Garry Maddox Philadelphia (NL) OF
1985 Don Baylor NY Yankees (AL) DH
1984 Ron Guidry NY Yankees (AL) P
1983 Cecil Cooper Milwaukee (AL) 1B
1982 Ken Singleton Baltimore (AL) DH
1981 Steve Garvey Los Angeles (NL) 1B
1980 Phil Niekro Atlanta (NL) P
1979 Andre Thornton Cleveland (AL) 1B
1978 Greg Luzinski Philadelphia (NL) OF
1977 Rod Carew Minnesota (AL) 1B
1976 Pete Rose Cincinnati (NL) 3B
1975 Lou Brock St. Louis (NL) OF
1974 Willie Stargell Pittsburgh (NL) 1B
1973 Al Kaline Detroit (AL) OF
1972 Brooks Robinson Baltimore (AL) 3B
1971 Willie Mays San Francisco (NL) OF