Rookie of the Year

Given to the top rookie-eligible players in both leagues, the Rookie of the Year Awards are voted voted upon by the Baseball Writers' Association of America prior to the beginning of the postseason and are based on a weighted points system. From 1947-48, it was given to the Majors' best overall rookie, but has been given to one player per league since 1949. On the 40th anniversary of the first award, the honor was named for Jackie Robinson, its first winner.

American League

Year Player Team Position
2023 Gunnar Henderson Baltimore SS
2022 Julio Rodríguez Seattle OF
2021 Randy Arozarena Tampa Bay OF
2020 Kyle Lewis Seattle OF
2019 Yordan Alvarez Houston OF
2018 Shohei Ohtani LA Angels DH
2017 Aaron Judge NY Yankees RF
2016 Michael Fulmer Detroit SP
2015 Carlos Correa Houston SS
2014 Jose Abreu Chi White Sox 1B
2013 Wil Myers Tampa Bay OF
2012 Mike Trout LA Angels OF
2011 Jeremy Hellickson Tampa Bay SP
2010 Neftali Feliz Texas RP
2009 Andrew Bailey Oakland RP
2008 Evan Longoria Tampa Bay 3B
2007 Dustin Pedroia Boston 2B
2006 Justin Verlander Detroit OF
2005 Huston Street Oakland RP
2004 Bobby Crosby Oakland SS
2003 Angel Berroa Kansas City SS
2002 Eric Hinske Toronto 3B
2001 Ichiro Suzuki Seattle OF
2000 Kazuhiro Sasaki Seattle RP
1999 Carlos Beltran Kansas City OF
1998 Ben Grieve Oakland OF
1997 Nomar Garciaparra Boston SS
1996 Derek Jeter NY Yankees SS
1995 Marty Cordova Minnesota OF
1994 Bob Hamelin Kansas City DH
1993 Tim Salmon California OF
1992 Pat Listach Milwaukee SS
1991 Chuck Knoblauch Minnesota 2B
1990 Sandy Alomar Jr. Cleveland C
1989 Gregg Olson Baltimore RP
1988 Walt Weiss Oakland SS
1987 Mark McGwire Oakland 1B
1986 Jose Canseco Oakland OF
1985 Ozzie Guillen Chi White Sox SS
1984 Alvin Davis Seattle 1B
1983 Ron Kittle Chi White Sox OF
1982 Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore SS
1981 Dave Righetti NY Yankees SP
1980 Joe Charboneau Cleveland OF
1979 John Castino Minnesota 2B
1979 Alfredo Griffin Toronto SS
1978 Lou Whitaker Detroit 2B
1977 Eddie Murray Baltimore 1B
1976 Mark Fidrych Detroit SP
1975 Fred Lynn Boston OF
1974 Mike Hargrove Texas 1B
1973 Al Bumbry Baltimore OF
1972 Carlton Fisk Boston C
1971 Chris Chambliss Cleveland 1B
1970 Thurman Munson NY Yankees C
1969 Lou Piniella Kansas City OF
1968 Stan Bahnsen NY Yankees SP
1967 Rod Carew Minnesota 2B
1966 Tommie Agee Chi White Sox OF
1965 Curt Blefary Baltimore OF
1964 Tony Oliva Minnesota OF
1963 Gary Peters Chi White Sox SP
1962 Tom Tresh NY Yankees OF
1961 Don Schwall Boston SP
1960 Ron Hansen Baltimore SS
1959 Bob Allison Washington OF
1958 Albie Pearson Washington OF
1957 Tony Kubek NY Yankees SS
1956 Luis Aparicio Chi White Sox SS
1955 Herb Score Cleveland SP
1954 Bob Grim NY Yankees SP
1953 Harvey Kuenn Detroit 2B
1952 Harry Byrd Phi. Athletics SP
1951 Gil McDougald NY Yankees 3B
1950 Walt Dropo Boston 1B
1949 Roy Sievers StL Browns OF
1948 Alvin Dark * Bsn. Braves SS
1947 Jackie Robinson * Brooklyn 1B

National League

Year Player Team Position
2023 Corbin Carroll Arizona LF
2022 Michael Harris II Atlanta CF
2021 Jonathan India Cincinnati 2B
2020 Devin Williams Milwaukee RP
2019 Pete Alonso NY Mets 1B
2018 Ronald Acuña Jr. Atlanta CF
2017 Cody Bellinger LA Dodgers 1B
2016 Corey Seager LA Dodgers SS
2015 Kris Bryant Chi Cubs 3B
2014 Jacob deGrom NY Mets SP
2013 Jose Fernandez Miami SP
2012 Bryce Harper Washington OF
2011 Craig Kimbrel Atlanta RP
2010 Buster Posey San Francisco C
2009 Chris Coghlan Florida OF
2008 Geovany Soto Chi Cubs C
2007 Ryan Braun Milwaukee 3B
2006 Hanley Ramirez Florida SS
2005 Ryan Howard Philadelphia 1B
2004 Jason Bay Pittsburgh OF
2003 Dontrelle Willis Florida SP
2002 Jason Jennings Colorado SP
2001 Albert Pujols St. Louis 3B
2000 Rafael Furcal Atlanta SS
1999 Scott Williamson Cincinnati RP
1998 Kerry Wood Chi Cubs SP
1997 Scott Rolen Philadelphia 3B
1996 Todd Hollandsworth Los Angeles OF
1995 Hideo Nomo Los Angeles SP
1994 Raul Mondesi Los Angeles OF
1993 Mike Piazza Los Angeles C
1992 Eric Karros Los Angeles 1B
1991 Jeff Bagwell Houston 1B
1990 David Justice Atlanta OF
1989 Jerome Walton Chi Cubs OF
1988 Chris Sabo Cincinnati 3B
1987 Benito Santiago San Diego C
1986 Todd Worrell St. Louis RP
1985 Vince Coleman St. Louis OF
1984 Dwight Gooden NY Mets SP
1983 Darryl Strawberry NY Mets OF
1982 Steve Sax Los Angeles 2B
1981 Fernando Valenzuela Los Angeles SP
1980 Steve Howe Los Angeles RP
1979 Rick Sutcliffe Los Angeles SP
1978 Bob Horner Atlanta 3B
1977 Andre Dawson Montreal OF
1976 Pat Zachry Cincinnati SP
1976 Butch Metzger San Diego RP
1975 John Montefusco San Francisco SP
1974 Bake McBride St. Louis OF
1973 Gary Matthews San Francisco OF
1972 Jon Matlack NY Mets SP
1971 Earl Williams Atlanta C
1970 Carl Morton Montreal SP
1969 Ted Sizemore Los Angeles 2B
1968 Johnny Bench Cincinnati C
1967 Tom Seaver NY Mets SP
1966 Tommy Helms Cincinnati 2B
1965 Jim Lefebvre LA Dodgers 2B
1964 Dick Allen Philadelphia 3B
1963 Pete Rose Cincinnati 2B
1962 Ken Hubbs Chi Cubs 2B
1961 Billy Williams Chi Cubs OF
1960 Frank Howard Los Angeles OF
1959 Willie McCovey San Francisco 1B
1958 Orlando Cepeda San Francisco 1B
1957 Jack Sanford Philadelphia SP
1956 Frank Robinson Cincinnati OF
1955 Bill Virdon St. Louis OF
1954 Wally Moon St. Louis OF
1953 Jim Gilliam Brooklyn 2B
1952 Joe Black Brooklyn RP
1951 Willie Mays NY Giants OF
1950 Sam Jethroe Bsn. Braves OF
1949 Don Newcombe Brooklyn SP
1948 Alvin Dark * Bsn. Braves SS
1947 Jackie Robinson * Brooklyn 1B