1982 World Champions 40th Anniversary Weekend

1982 World Champions 40th Anniversary Weekend

Cardinals Announce 40th Anniversary Reunion of 1982 World Series Championship Team

Organization to Honor & Celebrate 9th Championship Squad with Over 20 Former Players on Saturday, August 13

It's "Celebration" time, Cardinals fans! Join us for the a 40-year anniversary reunion of the 1982 World Series Championship team at Busch Stadium on Saturday, August 13, presented by Heartland Coca-Cola.

Over 20 former players and staffers from the 1982 team, including National Baseball Hall of Famers Whitey Herzog, Ozzie Smith, Bruce Sutter, Jim Kaat, and Cardinals Hall of Famers Willie McGee, Keith Hernandez & Tom Herr, are scheduled to take part in a pregame ceremony before that evening’s 6:15 PM game against that year’s World Series opponent, Milwaukee Brewers. Beginning at approximately 5:30 PM, members of the 1982 team will parade along the Busch Stadium warning track in Ford vehicles and be individually introduced at home plate. The ceremony will conclude with a ceremonial first pitch and a team photo with the World Series trophy at home plate.

Other players and clubhouse staff members scheduled to attend the 40-year reunion include Ken Oberkfell, Steve Mura, John Stuper, Dave LaPoint, Doug Bair, Mike Ramsey, Dane Iorg, Steve Braun, Glenn Brummer, Gene Roof, John Martin, Jeff Lahti, Jeff Keener, Mark Littell, Eric Rasmussen, Buddy Bates, CJ Cherre and Frank Coppenbarger. Family members for the late Cardinals Hall of Famer Bob Forsch, 1982 World Series MVP Darrell Porter and David Green will also attend.

That day, 25,000 fans, age 16 and older, will take home a 1982 "Final Out" double bobblehead featuring Bruce Sutter and Darrell Porter, presented by Coca-Cola and Schnucks.

The anniversary weekend will span the August 12-14 series vs. Milwaukee, with 1982-themed promotional gate giveaways and additional Cardinals Museum programming.