Giants-Nats rained out Thurs.; twin bill Sat.

June 10th, 2021

WASHINGTON -- The series opener between the Nationals and Giants on Thursday night at Nationals Park was postponed because of inclement weather. It will be made up on Saturday at 2:05 p.m. ET/11:05 a.m. PT as part of a split, seven-inning doubleheader, with the originally scheduled game to follow at 7:15 p.m. ET/4:15 p.m. PT.

Washington right-hander Max Scherzer (5-4, 2.22 ERA) and San Francisco right-hander Anthony DeSclafani (5-2, 3.51 ERA), who were slated to start on Thursday, will start Friday.

Right-hander Joe Ross, who was already scheduled to start on Saturday for the Nationals, will toss one of the two games. The teamā€™s other starter has yet to be announced.

Giants righty Kevin Gausman was pushed back from starting Friday to one of the games on Saturday. Right-hander Johnny Cueto was also slated to start Saturday for San Francisco, though it is not clear whether he will start one of the doubleheader games.

Saturday will mark the Nationals' fourth doubleheader of the season. They are 1-5 in those games, all of which have been played at Nats Park. The Giants are 1-1 in one doubleheader this season.

For information regarding the Nationals' rainout policy, visit their website.