National Baseball Hall of Fame

Player Years played with Padres
Roberto Alomar 1988-1990
Rollie Fingers 1977-1980
Goose Gossage 1984-1987
Tony Gwynn 1982-2001
Rickey Henderson 1996-1997, 2001
Trevor Hoffman 1993-2008
Greg Maddux 2007-2008
Willie McCovey 1974-1976
Gaylord Perry 1978-1979
Mike Piazza 2006
Ozzie Smith 1978-1981
Dave Winfield 1973-1980

Ford C. Frick Award

Presented annually to a broadcaster for "major contributions to baseball".

Broadcaster Year Received
Jerry Coleman 2005
Dick Enberg 2015

Padres in Cooperstown


Hall of Fame Class of 2007

On January 9, 2007, Padres legend Tony Gwynn was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. "Mr. Padre" joined Cal Ripken Jr. in the Hall of Fame's 2007 class on July 29, 2008. With 75,000 fans looking on, it was the largest crowd ever at an induction ceremony.

In 20 seasons (1982-2001) with San Diego, Gwynn won a National League record-tying eight batting titles and was selected to 16 All-Star teams.

The Padres career leader in nearly every offensive category, Gwynn retired with a .338 career batting average and 3,141 hits in 2,440 games. Gwynn's hit count includes 543 doubles, 85 triples and 135 home runs. He also finished with 1,138 RBI and 319 stolen bases.

Gwynn played on each of the Padres first three division championship clubs (1984, 1996, 1998) and batted .371 (13-for-35) in the club's two World Series appearances in 1984 against the Tigers and 1998 against the Yankees.

He hit over .300 in 19 consecutive season with his .289 rookie performance standing as the only time in his professional career that he failed to hit .300, having reached the mark in each stop over his three minor league seasons.

Only the 17th player in history to spend his entire career of 20 or more seasons with one club, Gwynn's unwavering loyalty to the Padres and his undying devotion to the San Diego community further cemented his standing both as "Mr. Padre" and one of the great ambassadors of the game of baseball.


Hall of Fame Class of 2001

Dave Winfield became the first player to enter the Baseball Hall of Fame as a Padre when he was inducted into the Cooperstown shrine on Aug. 5, 2001. Winfield joined Kirby Puckett, Bill Mazeroski and Hilton Smith in the Hall's Class of 2001.

Winfield's Cooperstown credentials include 12 All-Star selections during a 22-year career during which he batted .283 with 3110 hits, 465 home runs, 1833 RBI and 223 stolen bases in 2973 games with the Padres, Yankees, Angels, Blue Jays, Twins and Indians.

He was elected to the Padres Hall of Fame in 2000, and his No. 31 jersey was retired by the club in 2001.

The inscription on his Hall of Fame plaque reads:

"A complete player who intimidated the opposition with his immense stature, power, aggressive baserunning and dominant defense. Advanced directly from college to the Major Leagues. The 12-time All-Star compiled 3,110 hits, 465 home runs, 1,833 RBI and a .283 career average. The multitalented outfielder, renowned for long strides and a rocket arm, earned seven Gold Glove awards. Among All-Time leaders in hits, RBI, games, doubles, extra base hits, total bases and putouts. His 11th inning, two-out double in Game Six clinched Toronto's 1992 World Series title."


Hall of Fame Class of 2018

The most successful closer in Padres franchise history and one of the best ever in the history of Major League Baseball, Trevor Hoffman was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in July 2018.

Hoffman retired as MLB’s all-time saves leader with 601 in 677 opportunities, a 61-75 record, 2.87 ERA (347 ER, 1089.1 IP), .211 opponent batting average and 1,133 strikeouts in 1,035 relief appearances. The seven-time all-star (1998, 99, 2000, 02, 06, 07, 09) also finished in the top 10 in Cy Young voting (1996, 98, 99, 2006) and in the top 25 in MVP voting (1996, 98, 2005, 06).

Over his 16 seasons with San Diego, Hoffman compiled a 54-64 record with 552 saves in 618 opportunities (.893 save percentage), a 2.76 ERA, .211 opponent clip and 1,029 strikeouts in 902 relief appearances. He was the first player in MLB history to reach the 500 and 600 save milestones, and his nine seasons of 40-plus saves are tied with Mariano Rivera for the most, all time. He twice had 40+ saves in four consecutive seasons (1998-2001 and 2004-07), the only pitcher to ever accomplish the feat twice. He also recorded a single season franchise-record 53 saves during the 1998 National League title season.

Notable Padres artifacts at the Hall

  • Bat from Nate Colbert's record five-homer, 13-RBI in a doubleheader on Aug. 1, 1972.
  • Uniform worn by Gaylord Perry during the 1979 season.
  • Cap worn by Steve Garvey on April 16, 1983, when he set the NL record for consecutive games played.
  • World Series press pin from 1984.
  • Bats used by Marvell Wynne, Tony Gwynn and John Kruk to homer in succession leading off a game April 13, 1987.
  • Jersey worn by Gwynn during the 1994 season when he hit .394 to record his fifth NL batting title.
  • Bat used by Ken Caminiti to switch hit home runs in consecutive games Sept. 16-17, 1995.
  • Bat and spikes used by Gwynn in 1997, when he achieved his record-tying eighth NL batting title.
  • Cap worn by Gwynn during the 1998 World Series.
  • A bat used by Greg Vaughn during his 50-home run season of 1998.
  • Bat and uniform from final month of Tony Gwynn's final season in 2001.