Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Franchise Timeline


The first no-hitter in San Diego Stadium history is thrown by the Pirates' Dock Ellis on June 12 as he blanks the Padres, 2-0.


Clay Kirby retires the first 21 in a row on Sept. 18 before Willie McCovey homers for San Francisco's only hit in a 2-1 Padres victory.


Steve Arlin hurls 8 2/3 no-hit innings against Philadelphia on July 18 before giving up a ninth inning single to Denny Doyle. On Aug. 1, Nate Colbert hits five home runs and drives in 13 runs in a doubleheader at Atlanta. The RBI total establishes a record that still stands, while the five home runs tie Stan Musial's 1954 Major League mark. Chicago's Milt Pappas no-hits the Padres on Sept. 2 in an 8-0 win at Wrigley Field.


Phil Niekro tosses a no-hitter against the Padres on Aug. 5 in Atlanta, winning 9-0.


Ray Kroc, founder of McDonald's, prevents the Padres from moving to Washington, D.C., by purchasing the club from C. Arnholt Smith.


Randy Jones becomes the Padres' first 20-game winner with a 6-5 win over Los Angeles on Sept. 25.


Randy Jones wins San Diego's first Cy Young Award after a 22-14 season in which he sets club records for wins, innings pitched and complete games. Butch Metzger is NL Rookie Pitcher of the Year.


Roger Craig is named manager, replacing Alvin Dark. The Padres host the All-Star Game, a 7-3 NL win. Steve Garvey is named the game's MVP. Gaylord Perry earns the NL Cy Young Award, the first time a pitcher has won the honor in each league.


Jerry Coleman leaves the broadcast booth to become manager, replacing Roger Craig.