Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Franchise Timeline


The Padres become the first NL club with three 50 stolen base men (Gene Richards, 61; Ozzie Smith, 57; Jerry Mumphrey, 52), as they lead the Majors with 239. Rollie Fingers becomes the first reliever to win three Fireman of the Year awards. Jack McKeon is named Vice President of Baseball Operations. Frank Howard named manager, as Jerry Coleman returns to the broadcast booth.


Dick Williams is named manager, replacing Frank Howard.


Tony Gwynn makes his major league debut on July 19, collecting two hits against the Phillies. The Padres sign free agent first baseman Steve Garvey on Dec. 21.


Steve Garvey dislocates his left thumb in a home plate collision on July 29, snapping his NL-record streak of 1,027 consecutive games played, third-longest in Major League history.


Owner Ray Kroc dies. Mrs. Joan Kroc succeeds as owner and chairwoman of the board. Ballard Smith is named President. A 5-4 win over San Francisco on Sept. 20 gives the Padres their first division crown. Steve Garvey snaps a 5-5 tie with a two-run homer in the ninth inning to send the NLCS against Chicago to a decisive fifth game. The Padres come back from an early 3-0 deficit to beat the Cubs, 6-3, and win the NL pennant. San Diego participates in its first World Series, falling four games to one to the Detroit Tigers. Tony Gwynn bats .351 to win his first NL batting title. Alan Wiggins establishes a club record with 70 stolen bases.


Manager Dick Williams and seven Padres and lead the NL to a 6-1 win over the AL in the All-Star Game in Minneapolis. LaMarr Hoyt is named All-Star MVP.


Jimmy Jones tosses a one-hitter in his Major League debut to defeat Houston on Sept. 21. Craig Lefferts makes a club-record 83 appearances over the course of the season.


Charles S. (Chub) Feeney, former NL president, is named Padres president. Benito Santiago closes out his first big league campaign with a club and Major League rookie record-setting 34-game hitting streak, longest by a Major League catcher, and wins the Rookie of the Year Award in a unanimous vote.


Jack McKeon is named manager replacing Larry Bowa. Tony Gwynn wins his third NL batting title with a .313 mark.


Dick Freeman is named Padres president. The Padres go 29-10 in the last six weeks to get back into the pennant race, but finish second -- three games behind the Giants. Tony Gwynn records six hits in his final eight at-bats to capture his 4th NL batting title. Mark Davis notches a then-Padres record 44 saves, one shy of the then-NL record, en route to winning the Cy Young Award.