Toyota Phillies Wall of Fame

The tradition of honoring alumni of both the Phillies and the Philadelphia Athletics began in 1978 at Veterans Stadium in a 200 Level display originally called the Philadelphia Baseball Hall of Fame.

Enshrined Phillies

Name Year
Robin Roberts 1978
Richie Ashburn 1979
Chuck Klein 1980
Grover Alexander 1981
Del Ennis 1982
Jim Bunning 1984
Ed Delahanty 1985
Cy Williams 1986
Granny Hamner 1987
Paul Owens 1988
Steve Carlton 1989
Mike Schmidt 1990
Larry Bowa 1991
Chris Short 1992
Curt Simmons 1993
Dick Allen 1994
Willie Jones 1995
Sam Thompson 1996
Johnny Callison 1997
Greg Luzinski 1998
Tug McGraw 1999
Gavvy Cravath 2000
Garry Maddox 2001
Tony Taylor 2002
Sherry Magee 2003
Billy Hamilton 2004
Bob Boone 2005
Dallas Green 2006
John Vukovich 2007
Juan Samuel 2008
Harry Kalas 2009
Darren Daulton 2010
John Kruk 2011
Mike Lieberthal 2012
Curt Schilling 2013
Charlie Manuel 2014
Pat Burrell 2015
Jim Thome 2016
Pat Gillick 2018
Roy Halladay 2018
Bobby Abreu 2019
Manny Trillo 2021
Bake McBride, Ron Reed 2022
Ruly Carpenter, John Quinn, Scott Rolen 2023

Remembering the A's

From 1978 through the final year of the Vet, 2003, members of the A’s were also selected yearly. The A’s were a member of the American League in Philadelphia from 1901 through the 1954 season when the franchise was moved to Kansas City.

A total of 25 former A’s were part of the Philadelphia Baseball Hall of Fame, starting with Connie Mack, their longtime manager/owner who was inducted posthumously in 1978. A large statue of Connie Mack once stood at Connie Mack Stadium on the south side of Lehigh Avenue. During the 1971 inaugural season at Veterans Stadium, the Phillies relocated the statue to the corner of Broad Street and Pattison Avenue. The Phillies moved it again during the final construction stages of Citizens Bank Park in March of 2004.

Mack’s statue is located on the west side of Citizens Bank Way. Names of the 25 A’s players who were honored at the Vet’s Hall of Fame display have been added to Mack’s statue so that fans will forever remember the A’s.

Name Year
Connie Mack 1978
Jimmie Foxx 1979
Lefty Grove 1980
Al Simmons 1981
Mickey Cochrane 1982
Jimmy Dykes 1984
Eddie Plank 1985
Rube Waddell 1986
Eddie Collins 1987
Wally Moses 1988
Bob Johnson 1989
Elmer Valo 1990
Chief Bender 1991
Jack Coombs 1992
Frank Baker 1993
Bobby Shantz 1994
Eddie Joost 1995
Ed Rommel 1996
Ferris Fain 1997
Bing Miller 1998
Sam Chapman 1999
George Earnshaw 2000
Gus Zernial 2001
Rube Walberg 2002
Rube Oldring 2003