D-backs' all-time retired numbers

December 1st, 2021

PHOENIX -- The D-backs don't have a lot of history to draw from, having played their first season in 1998, but they have had some memorable moments.

Chief among them is the 2001 World Series championship, which the D-backs won in a thrilling seven-game set with the Yankees.

Two of the key players from that team, Luis Gonzalez and Randy Johnson, were the first to have their numbers retired at Chase Field.

MLB.com is taking a closer look at retired numbers from all 30 teams around Major League Baseball, and here's the two that qualify for Arizona.

Luis Gonzalez, OF: No. 20
Number retired: Aug. 7, 2010
Gonzalez was acquired by the D-backs from the Tigers in exchange for outfielder Karim Garcia prior to the 1999 season. Gonzalez is the D-backs' all-time home run leader with 224 over his eight years in Arizona, but he will forever be remembered for a game-winning bloop single to left in the bottom of the ninth inning of Game 7 of the 2001 World Series off Yankees closer Mariano Rivera. Gonzalez hit 57 homers in 2001 and he was a five-time All-Star. He works in the front office as a senior advisor to the CEO/president.

Randy Johnson, LHP: No. 51
Number retired: Aug. 8, 2015
Johnson was enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2015, becoming the first to do so wearing a D-backs hat. Signed as a free agent before the 1999 season, Johnson had two stints with the D-backs from 1999-2004 and 2007-08. The Big Unit, who won 303 career games, ranks second all-time in strikeouts with 4,875 behind Nolan Ryan. While with the D-backs, Johnson won four straight NL Cy Young Awards from 1999-2002 and he was named co-MVP of the 2001 World Series. On May 18, 2004, he threw a perfect game against the Braves at Turner Field.

Note: On April 15, 1997, the D-backs joined every team in MLB in retiring No. 42 in honor of Jackie Robinson.