Mariners Hall of Fame

Mariners Hall of Fame Members

Dave Niehaus

Inducted: 2000
Announcer: 1977-2010
National Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2008

Position: Broadcaster
Born: February 19, 1935 in Princeton, IN
Debut: April 6, 1977
Final Game: October 3, 2010

Dave Niehaus was the Voice of the Mariners from the very first game on April 6, 1977 to his passing on November 10, 2010. He broadcast 5,284 of the 5,385 regular season games played in Club history. Niehaus was inaugurated into the Mariners Hall of Fame on May 7, 2000.

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association named Niehaus "Sportscaster of the Year" for the state of Washington in 1995 and 1996, and in 1997, Niehaus was honored by the Washington State House of Representatives for his "contributions to the quality of life in the Pacific Northwest."

In 2008, Dave received the Ford C. Frick Award, presented annually for major contributions to baseball broadcasting. He was presented with the award during the National Baseball Hall of Fame induction ceremonies in Cooperstown, N.Y. On Opening Day of the 2011 season (April 8), the City of Seattle renamed the block of 1st Ave. S. that passes in front of Safeco Field Dave Niehaus Way.