Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Yankees News

Yankees name RHP D.J. Mitchell and C Austin Romine winners of the 2011 Kevin Lawn “Pitcher of the Year” and “Player of the Year” awards

The New York Yankees today announced that

right-handed pitcher D.J. Mitchell

The New York Yankees today announced that

right-handed pitcher D.J. Mitchell

and catcher Austin Romine were named winners of the Yankees' 2011 Kevin Lawn Award as the Yankees' minor league "Pitcher of the Year" and "Player of the Year," respectively. The two players will receive their awards prior to today's Yankees-Twins game at George M. Steinbrenner Field, scheduled to begin at 1:05 p.m.

The annual awards are dedicated to Kevin O'Brien Lawn - the son of longtime Yankees Vice President and Chief of Operations Jack Lawn - who passed away in 1999.

Mitchell, 24, went 13-9 with a 3.18 ERA in 28 games (24 starts) with Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre in 2011. He led all Yankees farmhands in wins and ranked third in ERA. Among International League hurlers, he ranked second in both wins and innings pitched (161.1IP). As a starter, Mitchell went 12-9 with a 3.40 ERA, allowing 3ER or less in 18 of his 24 starts. He tossed a league-high-tying three complete games, including back-to-back shutouts on July 2 at Pawtucket and July 9 vs. Rochester. In four relief appearances, he went 1-0 with a 0.69 ERA, holding his opponents to just 1ER in 13.0IP.

Romine, 23, spent the majority of the 2011 season with Double-A Trenton, batting .286 (96-for-336) with 43 runs, 13 doubles, six home runs and 47 RBI in 85 games, earning a spot on the Eastern League's midseason All-Star team. He caught 23.9% (27-for-113) of potential base stealers with the Thunder, ranking seventh in the league in caught stealing percentage. Romine was selected to the Yankees' active roster from Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre on September 11, and made his Major League debut that same day at Los-Angeles-AL. In nine games (four starts at the catcher position) at the Major League level, he hit .158 (3-for-19) with two runs. Following the season, he was tabbed by Baseball America as the Yankees' eighth-best prospect and as the organization's "Best Defensive Catcher."

Each player will be presented with a trophy designed by C & C Awards, as well as a designer watch, courtesy of Manfredi Jewels.


  Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year
2011 C Austin Romine (TRE/SWB RHP D. J. Mitchell (SWB)
2010 SS Eduardo Nunez (SWB) RHP David Phelps (TRE/SWB)
2009 C Austin Romine (TAM) RHP Zach McAllister (TRE)
2008 OF Brett Gardner (SWB) LHP Phil Coke (TRE/SWB)
2007 OF Austin Jackson (CHA/TAM/SWB) RHP Ian Kennedy (TAM/TRE/SWB)
2006 1B Cody Ehlers (TAM) RHP Phil Hughes (TRE)
2005 OF Kevin Thompson (COL/TRE) RHP Matt DeSalvo (TRE)
2004 1B Andy Phillips (COL/TRE) RHP Chien-Ming Wang (TRE/COL)
2003 C Dioner Navarro (TAM/TRE) RHP Jorge DePaula (COL)
2002 2B Andy Phillips (COL/NOR) LHP Danny Borrell (NOR/TAM)
    RHP Jorge DePaula (NOR)
2001 OF Juan Rivera (COL/NOR) LHP Brandon Claussen (NOR/TAM)
  OF Marcus Thames (NOR)  
2000 3B Scott Seabol (NOR) LHP Randy Keisler (COL)
1999 2B D'Angelo Jimenez (COL) LHP Ed Yarnall (COL)
  1B Nick Johnson (NOR)  
1998 1B Nick Johnson (TAM) RHP Ryan Bradley (TAM/NOR/COL)
1997 3B Mike Lowell (COL/NOR) LHP Eric Milton (NOR/TAM)
1996 OF Ricky Ledee (COL/NOR) RHP Jay Tessmer (TAM)
1995 SS Derek Jeter (COL) RHP Matt Drews (TAM)
1994 SS Derek Jeter (TAM/ALB/COL) LHP Andy Pettitte (COL/ALB)
1993 OF Billy Masse (COL) LHP Ryan Karp (ALB/PRW/GBO)
1992 1B J.T. Snow (COL) RHP Sam Militello (COL)
1991 C Kiki Hernandez (GBO/PW) RHP Ed Martel (ALB/COL)
  SS Dave Silvestri (ALB) RHP Sam Militello (PW/ALB)
1990 OF Hensley Meulens (COL) RHP Dave Eiland (COL)
1989 1B Hal Morris (COL) LHP Steve Adkins (FTL/ALB)
1988 1B Kevin Maas (PRW/ALB) RHP Todd Malone (Sarasota)
1987 OF Darren Reed (COL) RHP Dana Ridenour (FTL)
1986 3B Chris Alvarez (FTL) RHP Logan Easley (ALB)
1985 OF Dan Pasqua (COL) RHP Brad Arnsberg (ALB)
1984 C/OF Scott Bradley (COL) LHP Jim Deshaies (COL)
1983 OF Brian Dayett (COL) RHP Jose Rijo (FTL/Nashville)
1982 OF Matt Winters (GBO/Nashville) RHP Bob Tewksbury (FTL)
1981 1B Don Mattingly (COL) LHP Pete Filson (FTL/Nashville)
1980 1B Steve Balboni (Nashville) RHP Gene Nelson (FTL)


New York Yankees